Facebook Face Recognition Software

Facebook Face Recognition Software

Image from www.geekosystem.com

Have you heard the latest about the Facebook Face Recognition Software? Facebook isn’t known for protecting your privacy and its latest photo-tagging feature is no different. Using facial recognition software, Facebook will soon group photos together and, wherever possible, when you upload a new photo, the system will match people in your new photos to others you’ve already tagged.

The official blog post on the Facebook blog has this explanation:

“Because photos are such an important part of Facebook, we want to be sure you know exactly how tag suggestions work: When you or a friend upload new photos, we use face recognition software, similar to that found in many photo editing tools—to match your new photos to other photos you’re tagged in. We group similar photos together and, whenever possible, suggest the name of the friend in the photos.”

Many people dislike being tagged in photos without their knowledge or permission and there are many reasons why we should be worried about this feature. Who knows what photos your ‘friends’ may have and how they will be used.

More worrying is that Facebook has made this feature ‘opt out’ rather than ‘opt in’. This means that the feature is automatically added to your account without your permission and you have to manually turn it off.

To change your setting:

  • Go to account/privacy settings
  • Click on customise settings
  • Scroll down to ‘things others share’
  • Look for ‘suggest photos of me to friends’
  • Click ‘edit settings and change to ‘disabled’

In our opinion, all features that compromise privacy MUST be opt-in only. What do you think?

 

This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.